Search the forum,

Discuss what type of flux in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sheff paul

As the title says whats your favourite flux,personally prefer yorkshire traditional on seen work,and Laco anywhere else.

Love a good old bit of ever flux :) red lid is laco

I always use powerflow, it was used by the guy who taught everything I know so I have never considered using anything else. Are there cheaper alternatives?

Apparently power flow is the one, but for the extra price of it I'd take lack every time.

Laco for me.
the bloke I was an apprentice to used fluxite! Wes like axle grease.

shopping.jpg been using this for a year, doesnt leave a horrible green gunk and clean hands, no leaks so luv it.

Ever flux, best flux in the world.

If it wasn't true then they wouldn't be allowed to put it on the tub :)

Use bum center own brand . Same as yellow tub but 65% cheaper.

Used to use laco but harder to get pipes shining have dazzling fittings !

As I've said before I like power flow especially as when soldering outside in the snow once and found laco burned off before the pipe even got warm.

Power flow doesn't burn so quick so gives pipe a chance to heat up. It's all I use now.

And yes it can stick on 15mm. Always seems ok on 22mm upwards.

And same reason as above when heating 28mm pipe the flux doesn't burn as quick as laco would

Anyone ever used the fernox flux that comes in a blue tub and is like marmalade in colour but has the texture of thick frying pan grease. It's horrible stuff all round.

Powerflow - 16.5%
Laco - 38.6%
Everflux - 44.9%

Personally i start itching looking at the blue lid knowing what is coming when i open it.

Laco blackens the pipe more but wipes off easily. If you are burning it dump the mapp gas.