Discuss 'Renewing' your business? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Renewable M

Especially for the lads (and ladettes) who work for themselves, what do you see as the main barriers to getting into renewables instead of (or more realistically) along side gas/oil?

I'm interested in what would make it easier, what hurdles you have encountered, training and accreditation, understanding etc etc etc.

What is your understanding of renewable technology?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

now im a complete novice about renewables but
ground source pumps my guess most houses are surrounded by a min of 15feet of patio/concrete etc so straight away its labour intensive digging it all out running the pipework etc and then filling it all back in
especially as you will prob have to sub out the donkey work
just my initial thoughts
solar
hate working up high so not keen at all

you got it! ground source can mean mind bending amounts of money spent. If god meant us to fit solar he would have given us wings.

sooooo, air source is the way to go....

a good decent course would be an incentive to me - thinking of going on the one worcestor do.

Agreed, ASHP is for me the best option and easier installation too. As Renewable says, the cost is extreme for GSHP, solar panels are also expensive but like GSHP require small plant as well (any installer in his right mind would not attempt to carry solar panels up a ladder and would use scaffolding).

what about these home power stations have any of you seen them on site yet ?
makes electricity and produces heat as a by product !
bet they cost a fortune too :eek:

what about these home power stations have any of you seen them on site yet ?
makes electricity and produces heat as a by product !
bet they cost a fortune too :eek: