Search the forum,

Discuss Metabo or makita Core Drill in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

gallstone

Last edited by a moderator:
I had a Makita Core drill, it was the dogs balls. Brilliant bit of kit. Some git nicked it back in January. It was a big thing I know that.

I had to core cut a 100mm hole with my SDS on Thursday and I was cursing that thief every minute as the clutch kept slipping.

I can also vouch for Metabo stuff as I own a cordless drill driver, and I haven't managed to kill the thing yet, despite years of abuse. I stopped using it in Jan when I bought new tools to replace all the stuff that was nicked, I just thought sod it, I'll buy a new cordless drill. I bought top range Makita and it's ****e! All in all I've been no help have I!?

being a carpenter i can vouch for both after haveing both in some form or other and would stick to a brand to stand any chance of getting spares hope this helps plus if u wanna sell it when u up grade you will allways sell a brand rather than a unheard of make

I have had a few of the Makita ones , I find them OK but always feel they are a bit underpowered or that the clutch is set too light . A bit of damp in the brickwork and its jamming (dry coring )
I am going to try the Marcrist next

This is the best core drill you can buy for the money

DDM2 - 7700.001.001:MARCRIST-MARCRIST 7700.001.001 DDM2 Diamond Core Drilling Machine240V* 1500W

The 110v kit with the core bit set is great value as the core bit set usually sells for around £250 on its own.
Btw. Not all core bits are the same
If I was doing installs I would be looking at tamz recommendation. It is designed solely for core drilling. Never used one myself so only advising by it's reputation.
Give it a thought.

got mine today :) well impressed got the ddm2 with the kit cc850