Search the forum,

Discuss kiychen jig routing video in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

mutley racers

Esteemed
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Subscribed
Hey fellers, I am installing a kitchen and need to rout the work top in. I have never done this before but I remember someone posting a demonstration video for the jig. Anyone remember what thread it was?

personaly would NEVER attemp this myself! it takes a good joiner around 2 hours to do a good corner apparantley! imagine if you do a mistake? must be some vids on youtude tho! remember to price in a router bit in the job as it wont do many joints

personaly would NEVER attemp this myself! it takes a good joiner around 2 hours to do a good corner apparantley! imagine if you do a mistake? must be some vids on youtude tho! remember to price in a router bit in the job as it wont do many joints

Me either. Seen far too many mitres that are blowing up/badly jointed to risk trying it.

You could train a dog to cut a worktop. Nothing hard about it.
Just remember to always cut INTO the postformed edge which means you have to cut some joints with the worktop up the right way and others with the worktop upside down. If you don't it will flick the formica off the edge. Just think about it.
Use sharp bits and do each cut in 3 or 4 passes about 10mm depth at a time. Too much depth in one pass will burn your bits and blunt them.

If you do try this I would first try on spare bit of worktop, you will need jig,new router bit ,worktop clamping bolts ,colour fill for the joint and about 2 to3 hours

Am going to practice on some scrap bits of wood 1st before attempting it. Messed up on the price of the bit ib the qoute already. Didn't realise they were ÂŁ25!!

Thanks for the vid. I think there was a video for the unica jig which someone put on here. It was very good

Did my solid oak ones easy even a recess for Belfast sink with drop beads. It's a time consuming process.