Discuss Hot Water Cylinder Mixing Valve in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

TheArtfulDodger

Hello:

I am sure that my question will seem quite trivial to the members of this forum, but not for me. For, you see, I am an Electronic and Computer Engineer by trade and I was always taught to keep my hands out of water!:)

Here's my problem (this description of my system is the best I can conclude after searching the web for quite some time!): I have a gas boiler and an indirect, vented hot water cylinder. As most would know, where the hot water for the taps leaves the cylinder, there is a mixing valve to allow control of the temperature of the hot water while still having hot enough water to heat the radiators!

Here's my problem: A couple of years ago I was having trouble with my hot water and a plumber thought it was this mixing valve so he changed it. As it turned out, that wasn't the problem (limescale build-up) but my mixing valve was gone and I had no control over the hot water temperature except by changing the temperature of the cylinder - not good! Problem just came back and the plumber (diferent plumber) again thought it was the mixing valve so when he said he would change it I mentioned the temperature problem. He indicated that all of the valves now do not permit changing the temperature of the hot water (Health & Safety) with the valve!

So the question: Is it correct that all mixing valves do not permit changing the outgoing water temperature? If not, what information do I need to obtain from the current valve in order to replace the present one with one that can be adjusted?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Sparky

Hello:

I am sure that my question will seem quite trivial to the members of this forum, but not for me. For, you see, I am an Electronic and Computer Engineer by trade and I was always taught to keep my hands out of water!:)