Search the forum,

Discuss CRB or DBS Check for Sole Trader in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

bonzo1974

Typical for the government to make something as simple as ensuring that no axe murderers or nutters or paedophiles work in our schools into a system you need a PhD in Rocket Science to navigate, I can make no sense of it.

To me it seems to say that you can't DBS yourself, so what do you do as a sole trader. I'm the only employee so I can't pass it to a manager to check me, if I get the school to do the check on me then I don't end up with the certificate to get work in other schools etc in future.

Has anyone been through the DBS system as a sole trader since the scheme changed from CRB?

As a Contractor surely you are a Visitor to Schools and do not have unsupervised access so don't need DBS checking?

I work as a contractor doing schools and the clients like you to have a current CRB check , how ever a CRB check could be got today out of date tomorrow

I needed one I had to apply to some place in Scotland when I'm in work tomorrow I will give address on this thread for you

i never needed one hanging around the playground?

Me too! Or all the other parents, grandparents, etc.

Serious though
I don't know what DBS is.
I do know when I was on PTA it was not necessary.
AND when I've given talks to children in their classes it was not necessary.

It is only necessary if you are going to be alone with or responsible for the children.

I suppose if you are a plumber you could be working in the building and meet children who are walking alone in the corridor on the way to the loo when everyone is in class. But that is true of all visitors to school.

It does seem like paperwork gone mad.

I've had to complete paperwork that goes as far as parents political leanings, party memberships and criminal convictions including questions such as