Discuss What size immersion for 117L 900 x 450 cylinder? in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

So i'm a 4th year apprentice doing gas repairs and servicing, don't really get involved in cylinders too much unless changing a 3port or something because at my company the plumbing department change all cylinders

I've got a private job of changing the above cylinder due to it leaking in several places, I'm not really sure what size immersion heater I need to buy for the job though due to having no experience changing them. It's a top entry immersion slot only on the new cylinder but the old one has an immersion at the top and on on the side at the bottom

900mm is about 35'' so I could really fit a 27'' immersion or should I fit a smaller one for any reason??

direct or indirect cylinder ?

So i'm a 4th year apprentice doing gas repairs and servicing, don't really get involved in cylinders too much unless changing a 3port or something because at my company the plumbing department change all cylinders

I've got a private job of changing the above cylinder due to it leaking in several places, I'm not really sure what size immersion heater I need to buy for the job though due to having no experience changing them. It's a top entry immersion slot only on the new cylinder but the old one has an immersion at the top and on on the side at the bottom

900mm is about 35'' so I could really fit a 27'' immersion or should I fit a smaller one for any reason??
If you aren't qualified or insured you would be better to pass it onto the company you work for and ask to be involved in the job. Only my opinion but it is safer, you should be legally covered and you'll gain experience from doing the work under supervision if it's the first time.

Advantage of a a smaller immersion is the customer may only want to heat the top half of a cylinder to wash up in summer months instead of a large quantity of water.