Search the forum,

Discuss Some questions about balancing central heating in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Thedeester1

Firstly hello this is my first post.
The back ground: I recently bought an old house. The heating system was intact but the boiler wasn't working (heat exchanger leaking).The boiler was replaced with a straight replacement Ideal Condensing boiler. At that time there were no radiators on the walls so a system balance was Impossible. Now the house is getting something like finished I found I was getting astronomical gas bills.

From Instructions found on this site I set about DIYing it. Im an electro mechical engineer in a Glass works so I can manage to follow instructions and have Multi meter with thermo couple Input as a Thermometer.

First Question: To achieve the 10 to 15 degree Drop across the rads every lock shield is almost closed. They are the danfoss ones with an Allen screw adjuster. I would say that none are open more than 1/8 of a turn. Is this normal?

Second Question: I can only just achieve the 55degrees return leg temp (for Condensing) at the boiler and the pump is running at full speed. To Get this I have to set the boiler to no2 on the boiler stat. With the boiler at full heat I get around 75deg out 65 return. Is the pump at fault? If so why am I having to restrict the radiator lock shields so much?

Thanks in advance for any help.

start again using this method....

Attachments

• How To Balance Radiators.txt
    3.2 KB · Views: 97
start again using this method....

That's pretty much the method used. I have done the whole thing again and the results are still the same. None of the lock shields are open very much to achieve a temperature differential across the radiators?