1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discuss Vertical Radiator HELP! in the Central Heating Forum area at UKPlumbersForums.co.uk.

1. Mike3333

Mike3333 New Member

Guys I am a newbie and need help please. I have fitted 2 vertical radiators and both are leaking on the thermostat side. I have used loads of PTF tape and I now think I am missing a part.

They are bottom fed vertical rads. Do you guys fit another attachment between the the thermostat and the radiator? A tail of some sort that the thermostat attaches too? I only ask as the thermostat side doesn't feel tight even with 30 wraps of tape. And when I looked at another (done by a professional) there seems to be another connector inbetween the TRV and into the rad.

I have attached a pic of the part I think I need BUT I maybe wrong and bow to your greater knowledge!

If there is a part....kindly tell me what it is ;)

Thanks Mike

15561303645585421662714408680322.jpg

2. Craig Watson

Craig Watson Plumber GSR

Are you wrapping the ptfe the same direction as the threads or against it? The latter will unravel the ptfe as your threading it in

Are you saying the part your pointing to in the pic is missing?

3. scott_d

scott_d Plumber GSR Top Contributor!!

How many wraps of ptfe?

• Funny Funny x 1
  4. Mike3333

Mike3333 New Member

I tried about 10 but it felt loose. So yeah about 25-30. Would that suggest I need another part, the rad or the thermostat is faulty? It doesn't ever tighten up :(

5. townfanjon

townfanjon Trusted Plumber GSR Top Contributor!!

Chuck the ptfe and youtube loctite 55 , it shows you how to apply it . Or it used to .

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. scott_d

scott_d Plumber GSR Top Contributor!!

Locktite or a rubber o-ringed rad tail

• Like Like x 1
  7. Mike3333

Mike3333 New Member

Yes you can barely see it on this radiator but I wondered if I am missing something. From the new comments I will try this Locktite