Search the forum,

Discuss Tool Box or Tool Bag? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Marples

Which in your opinion is the best to have? pros and cons please.

That depends on what work you do.
Dirty commercial floor then box
Clean domestic floor then bag
But then you have to consider the weight of a metal box when fully loaded with tools and how far do you have to walk on average and things like that.

We only do domestic work, and with me being an apprentice i won't have too many tools. Just the basics really, so should be quite light. I'm a clean worker and look after my tools so the box/bag won't get too messed up.

Have a look at some of the other bag/box discussions on the forum there have been a fair few I love my veto pro pack which are the best tool bags made but overpriced for some. Most of the previous tgreads end up being discussions about whether veto pro packs are worth the money or not. Imho they are.

Had all, bags, boxes, open totes , i started with a canteleiver box then went to big stanley box then onto open tote bags now im back to a faacom canteliever box, tote bags are ok but i found u waste time lookin for tools buried, i use a magma tool bag for servicing n maintanance.

I know it's not the most pro looking tool carrying jobbie available, but I have been favouring a flexible bucket lately, get what I'll need out of the toolboxes plus a towel/sponge etc and pop them in the bucket, the handles come together so it's easy to carry and if needed I can tip the contents out and catch water in it.
It's spot on for bathroom maintenance type jobs where you know what you'll need before you knock on the door.
bucket.jpg

I like the gorilla tubs. Very versatile. I have a bahco plastic toolbox that I got as a freebie when I bought an sds drill last year. To say its plastic and only supposed to hold 3 to 4 kg its doing really well.