Discuss Tax return due, some advice please in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

armyash

Esteemed
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Subscribed
Hi

Got a letter through from HMRC today saying I need to complete a tax return for April 2013 - April 2014. I have until October 31st for paper copy or jan 31st if doing online. Plenty of time.

I wanted to get some advice as I have never done one before, most lads I know who work on a self employed basis reckon they always get a minimum of £1500 back. (I don't understand how but wont be getting my hopes up lol)

Who does theirs themselves?

Who gets an accountant to do it for them?

What I have been advised is, take all my receipts etc to an accountant and let them deal with it as what they can save/claim for on my behalf makes it worth while as they will pretty much save me their fee.

I think that means they will claim for me the maximum allowances possible on what ever I can claim against.

Hope this makes sense, if anyone can shed some light that would be great, thanks.

Are you sellf employed and pay tax at source?

Hi

Got a letter through from HMRC today saying I need to complete a tax return for April 2013 - April 2014. I have until October 31st for paper copy or jan 31st if doing online. Plenty of time.

I wanted to get some advice as I have never done one before, most lads I know who work on a self employed basis reckon they always get a minimum of £1500 back. (I don't understand how but wont be getting my hopes up lol)

Who does theirs themselves?

Who gets an accountant to do it for them?

What I have been advised is, take all my receipts etc to an accountant and let them deal with it as what they can save/claim for on my behalf makes it worth while as they will pretty much save me their fee.

I think that means they will claim for me the maximum allowances possible on what ever I can claim against.