Search the forum,

Discuss Simplest programmable stat for the over 70's in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

king of pipes

Esteemed
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Subscribed
Opinions please ladies and gentlemen I have a elderly couple who how can I say it ? are being rather challenging to please needs to be RF Regards kop

Honeywell t3r on manual eg plus for heating minus for no heating

combi pack 4 is the same it’s great

Opinions please ladies and gentlemen I have a elderly couple who how can I say it ? are being rather challenging to please needs to be RF Regards kop
What do they want and what don't they like about the solutions you have proposed?

Googling for 'accessible thermostats' throws up some interesting possibilities. This is a US site but it may have some ideas as to what's out there.

I find the idea of thermostats that 'learn' from usage patterns appealing but I have no personal experience of them and I occupy the 'keep it simple' end of the sprectrum when it comes to controls for the elderly.

It's recommended that elderly people should not let the temperature of their house drop below 18*C, so you might consider two stats in the index room, for 'daytime temperature' and the other for 'nighttime temperature', with a fixed lower limit at 18°C. At the boiler end you have a simple electromechanical programmer that enables/disables the daytime control. If you're using TPI thermostats, I'd consider lengthening the min on-off time, e.g. using the oil default, to prevent complaints about cycling keeping them awake in the night. Make sure the thermostats are clearly labelled 'Daytime' and 'Nightime' in case the couple have carers coming in who are heating engineers...

That last point about carers needing to be able to figure out how to make the house a bit warmer/cooler without difficulty is, in my opinion quite important for elderly people.

What do they want and what don't they like about the solutions you have proposed?