Discuss Shower Seal strip - how easy is it to replace in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

smg84

Hey there, DIY noob here!

I've recently bought a flat (converted from an old listed building about 15 years ago so I think that's how old all the interiors will be) and while there is no leaking issues so far I am imagining it's only a matter of time.

I have a shower unit in my en-suite, and it appears to have been sealed using a "strip" to seal between the tray and the bottom row of tiles. I am assuming the strip must go up behind the tiles, but i've noticed that there is a small gap appearing where tray meets strip.

Now the structure of strip it appears is the plastic bit and what appears to be a little bit of flexible seal at the edge (touching the shower tray).

If I were to fix this issue - I assume a seal of the gaps won't suffice, and i'll have to remove or replace the strip, but this isn't possible without ripping off the tiles.

I'm rambling now - but looking for any advice any of you lovely people can provide :)

Thanks!

Maybe a few close up photos would help us see exactly how it is.
It sounds like you have a plastic exposed strip along the tray, (perhaps floor has dried in) and if this is correct then some decent sealant might do the job. I like "ForeverWhite" silicone.
If the tray is on legs it could also be raised up a little, but I guess it is a floor tray?

Maybe a few close up photos would help us see exactly how it is.
It sounds like you have a plastic exposed strip along the tray, (perhaps floor has dried in) and if this is correct then some decent sealant might do the job. I like "ForeverWhite" silicone.
If the tray is on legs it could also be raised up a little, but I guess it is a floor tray?

Im not sure if it's on legs or not? It seems on the same level as the rest of the bathroom floor (there is a raised step to get into the shower but the actual tray is at floor level)