Discuss Setting Honeywell DU145 Auto Bypass Valve in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

antsals

Good afternoon,
I'd appreciate a quick bit of help.

I had new hot water tank, central heating pump, controls etc. installed last Nov; I kept original boiler for now.

I did a lot of research into the products I wanted in my system; found a good plumber through people I know that have had work done. (I'm an engineer by trade and have read up on every product possible, but trying to learn on how systems should be set to get optimum)

I moved and installed new rad on Thursday re-filled system fired it up.....happy days not leaks......but it took ages for "hot" water to reach that rad. Also I had noticed a problem that a rad in utility (I would say it was end of the line) didn't even get hot. I was unsure if it was since the upgrade of CH or always been like that cause we have only been in the house for a year.

Did balancing of the system and realised that a rad one up the line from the rad that got no heat was fully open both TRV and lock shield side. Tweaked that and heat from the cold rad.

In the meantime I have realised that as soon as the hot water starts pumping it goes down the bypass straight away. Reading Honeywell’s tech docs it guides to say that this is a safety device and should be active when flow is required to the boiler / pressure increase because of TRV close.

The plumber has left the autopass set below 1 at the lowest point. I assume this cannot be correct, I have followed the guides from Honeywell and I have calculated at between 3 - 4? Could this be correct? Would this push more heat through the rads??

I have an Ideal FF360 Classic boiler, Grundfos Alpha 2 15-60 130 central heating pump.

I'd appreciate some guidance.

Cheers
Ant

The more the auto bypass is screwed down the more water goes through the system the less goes through the bypass, adjust it a bit at at time, Ant