Discuss Self Assessment and Mr Tax Man in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

obseen16

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Hey fellas,

does anyone here do their own tax stuff, ive been doing my own self assessments for the past 3 years (when i set up self employed)

just wondered if anyone has ever had the tax man on their case regarding their self assessments if you have done them yourself. ive never had an accountant although i did visit one and showed them how im keeping the books but wasnt earning very much at the time so couldnt really afford his rates.

also what do you guys claim for as expenses, i personally claim for anything i think is "work related" i.e stationary, computer tools etc.

my main concern is this year i have invoiced out quite a half decent amount but my taxable earnings seem to only just be over the tax free line (think the line is 6.4K?) everything is put through the books but just looks weird to me.

anyone else been here or wondering the same thing as me?

Cheers guys

To be honest your a bit daft doing your own tax teturn , if you get any issues or if they ask you to open your books what are you going to do??Accountants have a governing body (like gas safe) so i would advise to get your hand in your pocket and get an accountant .What you need to remember is that HMRC officers do it as full time occupation and are good at it ,no matter how good you think your own self assesment is they can find holes in it can end up costly experience by simply not having an accountant.

My advice get an accountant and let them sort it all !!

Cheers gaspastemania. might start looking into getting an accountant this year. what sort of ££ are we looking at for an accountant to cook eh hem i mean do my returns.

The more expensive they are the better they cook.

A few hundred. Impossible to say as it's a little like comparing architect or lawyer prices.