Discuss Removing centre of stopcock in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

Essex Mark

Im a new plumber and have a question for you, I now and again have to ease/adjust 15mm stopcocks as they have ceased, I usually just renew the centre tap part of the stopcock as it is easier, my method is to clamp the body of the stopcock with stilsons and use large adjustable spanner to remove the head, this is an easy method (if you have another centre part to fit) BUT my problem is how do you change the centre part of the stopcock when it is housed A) tightly under a sink B) bottom of a cupboard in the corner when you just cant get your Stilsons or sanner in the right position. Is there a box spanner available that will fit stopcock heads ???? can anyone help. thanks

get my grips on them and give them a little more pressure than i can with my hand but no more as it can end in tears... that ususaly works.

generally when a stopcock is too tight to turn you only need to loosen the packing gland nut (the nut which the spindle goes thro into the valve) loosen the nut right out, you only get a drip of water if any, roll some ptfe tape into string or use loctite 55 and pack it into the space round the spindle, then push the nut back in and tighten it enough to still be able to turn the valve but tight enough not to leak, think i have only changed a handful of valves in my time, they dont need changed too often

generally when a stopcock is too tight to turn you only need to loosen the packing gland nut (the nut which the spindle goes thro into the valve) loosen the nut right out, you only get a drip of water if any, roll some ptfe tape into string or use loctite 55 and pack it into the space round the spindle, then push the nut back in and tighten it enough to still be able to turn the valve but tight enough not to leak, think i have only changed a handful of valves in my time, they dont need changed too often