Search the forum,

Discuss potable water piping on superyacht in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

superyachts

Hi there,
I'm new here, so a short introduction. I'm a maritime engineer in the superyacht industry. I´m working now on a research project for an alternative piping system for our potable water. I spoke with a few suppliers of different kind of piping systems and of course they are all very enthusiastic about their product. I don´t have much experience with the practical side of plumbing, so I wanted to ask your opinion about the choice for a piping system where the top priority will be the reliability. This because it will mainly be installed behind a very expensive interior.

At first I´m looking for the right material before looking at the right products. Cupper vs Multilayer (PE-alu-PE) vs all plastic (?).
So far I know:
Copper - expensive, heavy, easy to improvise, can handle temperatures above 65grC and reliable.
Multilayer - easy to install (when you have all the right tools), less weight, T-max: 65grC (so it will bring capacity of my boilers down), hygiene, no long term references yet.

So the lower max temperatures and the questionable relaibility of plastic/multilayer systems making me think of copper, despite of all the pro's it plastic has.

What are your opinions and what would you choose?

Last edited by a moderator:
whats size is the super yacht ? firsty you are going to have to work out the size of the pipework you require.

i have piped up a few items on boats etc and nearly all have been piped already in plastic or they have asked for it to be piped in plastic. if all the pipework if to be hidden then i suggest insulate and have it in one continuous run if possible.