Discuss overheat button in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

neilwileman

I wonder if anyone can help, i am an electrician and got called to a job this morning by a lady saying her boiler kept tripping out on the over heat cut out, on arrivel i discovered the boiler was mounted in a kitchen wall unit with harldy any room between the boiler front and the cupbaord doors. I opened the dooors and reset the cutout, and the boiler worked fine, i had it ruinning for 2 hours, the programer came on and of on required times so i couldnt find anything wrong. Could the boiler overheat due to the fact its in the unit?

could be but not necessarily. some boilers are built to go in cupboards like this. someone more experienced than me will be along soon to probably better answer your questions.

What could cause it to trip out then?

I couldnt find anything wrong with the wiring, everything worked fine?

The kitchen has just been fitted so boiler wasnt in a kitchen wall unit before, The woman said it tripped out on friday, she opened doors and reset trip, went to work and left doors open, when she got home boiler was working as normal, so she shut doors, when she got up next day trip was off and no hot water. I did the same today, got there and trip was off, opened doors and reset trip had boiler runn constanty for over a hour, the set timer on programer to come on whilst i was there, and it did? I just want to eleiminate any possible wiring faults if any? as we moved programer from upstairs to kitchen and had to alter the wiring, but like i said it worked ok?

depends a lot on what boiler were talking about here some boilers in fact most now need a permenant live without this it could cause overheat due to no pump over run let us know the make and model for further advice