Discuss Old system converted from partially pumped to Fully in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Full-Stomp

Hi Guys,

I'm new to this so bare with me!

I've been recently looking a the central heating system at my parents house, which hasn't been running efficiently I feel since it was converted from coal fired (Pumped CH and Gravity HW) to a modern gas boiler fully pumped. It looks like a Y plan from learning about heating systems online, with two valves after the pump.

Its a large system, 14 radiators vented with a header tank in the loft. With an indirect 1050x450 tank, vented.

The hot water would never get that hot after the conversion some 10 years ago, and the boiler would seem to run forever.. With long pump overruns. afterwards.

I swapped out the immersion heater/water heater with a modern one, which was the original gravity type (large coil). And now they have a 25 minute recovery time! Saving a fortune on bills.

There is one heat sink radiator, which comes pretty much directly off the feed for the tank. Can this be safely turned off now on a fully pumped system? Or even removed? It heats the room up in summer massively.

Also a small amount of radiators warm up slightly, with the water heating on only. What could cause this? None of the valves are sticking it seems.

Would it be worth installing an automatic bypass also after the pump? There is one there. But it looks like just a normal tap/valve. There seems to be a lot of overrun.

Hi and welcome along. In the nicest possible way it is very easy to get the piping wrong with this, sounds like it may already be the case. I would strongly suggest that you get a pro in to take a look for you.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Old system converted from partially pumped to Fully in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics