Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Main Combi 24 HE Hot Water Luke Warm Following Water Being Cut-Off in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Magic

Hi All,

I'm new here so thanks in advance for any help :)

I have a Main Combi 24 HE running on propane in a mobile home. I moved into the home in March and was told that the boiler was just a few months old, it certainly looks all clean and sparkly and has always worked well enough that I can run a little cold with the hot fully open to get a nice hot bath.

I am an electrician with a good understanding of plumbing, just not combi boilers! So, here goes......

Last week my water supply was disconnected without warning, at the time I was running a bath and my washing machine was on. Since then my hot water is only coming out luke warm. My central heating works okay, although I do think that it is a little slower to heat the rads but I'm not 100% about this.

Also, there is a noise a little like a rattlesnake when hot water is being called for. This appears to be coming from the plate heat exchanger, but again I'm not 100% about this. There is no noise when the central heating is on.

If I restrict the flow at the hot tap the water does get a little hotter, enough to bath in but only just and next month the water going in will be colder.

If I turn down the temperature dial on the front of the boiler then the flames do drop and return to what appears to be 'full-blast' when I turn it up again.

I have drained the boiler down a couple of times, hot water side only, but this has not changed anything. So, does anyone have any suggestions?

Many thanks for reading my plea :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Most like to be something has gone up the mains supply pipe when it was turned off.
Who turned the water off & why ??