Search the forum,

Discuss Kitchen Sink Installation in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JonnyAlpha

Hi; first post and I am a newbie.

I am fitting my own kitchen using a pre made plan.
i have bought a Howdens Kitchen and along one wall from right to left is an 800mm corner base unit a 500mm base unit followed by a 700mm gap for a Washing Machine.
To save time i am using the existing water supplies and wast pipe.

The problem I have is that I have bought a sink with a bowl with a waste bowl and due to the restrictive space in my kitchen it needs to sit across two cabinets. Before I bought the kitchen I asked if this would be OK and was told that it would be fine.

I have had a play with the orientation and it would seem that my sink needs to sit with drainer to the right, this is to keep the sink bowl central to the window, however this means that although the main bowl sits in the 500mm cabinet the centre waste bowl is slap bang between the two and sits over the join.

My option is to cut down the side of each adjoining cabinet to make space for the waste bowl and U Bend that will sit underneath, I will then run the waste pipe from the waste bowl to the left to join up with the main bowl waste pipe so that the all the pipes enter and exit in the 500mm unit.
Looking at the sink the taps also sit slap bang in the join area so I'll have to cut out the back edge.

As long as I joint the cabinets with bolts with the added strength once the worktop is on how much chopping can I get away with Should I also brace the cabinets together at the rear with some kind plate?