Search the forum,

Discuss Hot Water Tank Setup Advice in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Martin.R

I need some advice on how our hot water is setup please, I am a total novice when it comes to this area of our house.

I have attached some pictures of our hot water tank and theswitch boxes attached to it.

Could somebody please advise on how this setupworks so I know what to look for if I get any problems.

The reason for this post is this morning we had no hot water but theheating was on, the hot water tank and pipes felt cold.
I turned on the switch on the wall next to the tank and itheated up and we had hot water again.
I am not sure if the wall switch is normally off or on, my daughter had been in the airing cupboard the night before and she has a tendency to switch every switch she finds thinking it is a light :)

Do we have an immersion heater? It looks like on the tank weeither do or we have the fitting for an element.
It concerns me slightly because if we do have an immersionheater then the boiler must have a fault as we have to have the immersion onfor any hot water (I think).
Certainly when it was switched off we had no hot water.

Regarding the silver box the switch is AUTO or MANUAL(Currently AUTO), I’m sure if some years ago we had an issue and a friend had a look and it was just the switch in the wrong position.

Many thanks in advance for any advice given.

WP_20161114_18_49_57_Pro.jpgWP_20161114_18_50_32_Pro.jpgWP_20161114_18_51_17_Pro.jpgWP_20161114_18_51_59_Pro.jpgWP_20161114_18_52_12_Pro.jpgWP_20161114_18_53_00_Pro.jpgWP_20161114_18_53_44_Pro.jpgWP_20161114_19_23_21_Pro.jpgWP_20161114_19_24_02_Pro.jpg

The switch is a 13 amp switched fused spur. It shouldn't be on an immersion heater and you have a blank in the top of your cylinder so my guess there is you don't have one.