Search the forum,

Discuss Gas Worry!? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Ryster

So, after discovering this forum I now have somewhere to ask other gas engineers questions that I may not get answered by the people I have worked with for years so here we go:

Gas worry.

Does anybody else get this?
I have been doing Plumbing and Heating for 9 years now, I left school at 16, got an apprenticeship with a massive North West firm and stayed with them for 8 and a half years. At the end of last year I had enough, picked my tools up and walked off the job. No notice nothing. I felt that I wasnt ever going to get proper responsability, and wanted to learn more.

In my eyes it was the best thing I ever did.
Anyway, to get the point I started a new job 7 weeks ago. Now in any given year I would have maybe serviced 4 to 5 boilers, and the person I was working with would sign them off.

Now its upto me to sign them off. I will be doing maybe 30 a year now, along with fixing boiler breakdowns and changing parts. So I just wondered, does anyone else worry that they have maybe not done something right?
I thought I was pretty clued up on boilers up until this week where I came across two boilers that were installed whilst I was still in school. I have fixed them both, and found the problems myself, but it just made me think.......Do I really know enough?

Is this just a confidence thing that every youngish person goes through. I know I am doing everything how I was taught in college, I am also recording everything I do.
But over the past few days I have started thinking to myself, Have I been taught enough? What if this happens or that happens?

As I said, I know that my all of my testing is correct and I am recording every single thing I do. I just get that worry in my head every now and then.