Search the forum,

Discuss Gas training? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

macka09

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
Gas Engineer
Why is my boss so reluctant to help me gain my ACS and gas safe qualifications? I've been working with him for 7 months now and I've completed my NVQ IN PLUMBING AND HEATING. It's annoying me because before I started with him I told him I wanted to do my gas.

Probably because he's a tight arse and doesn't want to have to pay you more when your qualified

If he is a one man band where is the advantage? How long have you completed nvq2 what's your experience like? Is he busy enough to warrant having 2 gas registered engineers? Are you likely to leave shortly after becoming qualified at his expense? Are you going to think you're suddenly worth more money because you hold a gas ticket? Is he confident to put you out on your own representing his name and business?

Gasmanrob has pretty much summed it up, and 7 months isn't that long to have worked for someone the firms I worked which put plumbers through their gas normally waited till they were there for a couple of years. Have you thought about arranging and paying for your own training so you don't owe anything to anyone and can move on when you want.

Sorry maybe I should have worded that better. I don't want my boss to pay for anything. I paid for my NVQ and I'm still working for less than minimum wage. I'm able to do everything he asks of me just not always at the speed of others. All I ask for is help with the portfolio side of things. I definitely feel it's all do with wages. I ideally wanna go to a college rather than fast track. I already install gas pie work and help with boiler installs. I also do the flow rate and gas rate appliances. I've no intention of going it alone for starters how could I afford to when I'm picking up ÂŁ6ph?