Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Flux? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi - I know flux does 2 things - helps solder flow and cleans the pipe -

Am i right in saying when you heat a pipe up without any flux on you can sort of see a thin layer on the pipe ie when you move the blow torch up and down. Am i right in guessing this is an oxide layer - would this be the oxidiation, the bit that the flux cleans off to allow contact to the copper?

Thanks!

I'm a plumber too and I don't know what this is. I know how to solder, why flux is used (like Readingplumber) and make a water tight joint and how to measure the pipes for cutting and stuff like that.

I'm sure it's not important, this oxidisation or whatever it is, but I'd like to know the answer too.

I play the organ at funerals and am paid to do it. But that doesn't mean that I know all the hymns that people want me to play.

That's funny, I play the organs for weddings!! It's a funny old world huh! LOL, I joke of course.

Flux stops oxidisation of the joint when you apply heat. It also helps the capilary action (sucking the solder into the joint) What more is there to know than that?

Heat up twp bits of pipe. One fluxed and one not. Let it cool and observe.

Last edited:
LOL - The bit we're asking about (and only for interest) is when you run the blow torch up and down the pipe it looks as if steam is about to come off the pipe. Maybe no-one knows and we need to ask on a chemistry forum!