Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Checkout our Plumbers Insurance area - heavily discounted Public Liability Insurance and Van Insurance specifically designed for plumbers.

Discuss Chased pipes into wall. in the Central Heating Forum area at UKPlumbersForums.co.uk.

1. Andrew Stride

Andrew Stride New Member

What is the minimum depth of plaster required to cover central heating pipes chased into a wall, my plumber has left about 1mm of space from the surface of pipes to the surface of the plaster, I'm doing the filling but I'm not an expert and 1mm don't seem enough to me. Can someone please advise me.

2. Craig Watson

Craig Watson Plumber GSR Top Contributor!!

Too shallow, the heat from the pipes will cause expansion and it will crack.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  3. chris watkins

chris watkins Plumber

Deep enough so that with the expansion & contraction of the heating system the plaster will not crack & fall out.
    IMHO Heating pipes should not be chased into walls, I don't even like it when they put the plastic pipes behind dot & dab plaster board!!
    Whats the mater with surface runs & if you must then box them in or use a cover system, at least you know where they are in the future .

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. bogrodder

bogrodder Plumber GSR

Actually depends on the protective surface. If it’s 1mm above foam/ horsehair lagging.. it wouldn’t make a blind bit of difference. If it was 1mm above copper or tape wrapped copper then yes it would.

I thought I would clarify that for you again Craig

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Craig Watson

Craig Watson Plumber GSR Top Contributor!!

Clarify it for me again? Have we had this conversion before?