Discuss Can't refill my drained down CH system - please help me!! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

AWT

Hi people,

I've just stumbled across this website & am pinning my hopes on it now!! This is my first post n I'm a novice / keen learner so please be nice!! Any advice will be very gratefully received :)

I've drained the CH system down to tee off from other F&R pipes to the new radiator that I've put into the utility room / extension downstairs...I'm dead chuffed with myself for having gotten this far!

My problem is that I can't get the blooming system to refill!! Argh!!! I've turned back on everything that I'd turned off (& checked all valves / stoptaps again four times since!). The F&E header tank has refilled (to approx a third full), but no water is draining out of it into the radiators, nor is it feeding through to the boiler, so I believe. I've tried bleeding the system many times from every valve. I've removed the pump screw to check there wasn't an airlock in there (it's empty - no water in it beyond the couple of drips sitting in there). I've even put a piece of hose over the outlet pipe in the F&E tank and blown sharply into it in case an air block there was causing the problem...but no change.

I've tried turning up the thermostat & putting the boiler on, (although I've turned it off again now through fear of damaging the boiler...??)

The other water (C&H) is all working fine by the way.

Any advice on this guys? ;-)

Tags:
draining down CH system, CH system not refilling, airlock, refill problem, help needed

Well it could be that the cold feed from the header tank is blocked ,however when you drained the system originally did you notice if the F&E tank emptied ?
Do not turn boiler on until the system is filled as you may damage boiler and pump

Last edited by a moderator:
If it's an air lock: