Discuss Anyone worked for a big company then take the leap into working for yourself? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

payney1974

Gas Engineer
Hello there, ive been working for a company for 16 years now doing plumbing, c / h, servicing then for the last 6 years ive been doing breakdowns and working on chp's / pps. I worked my way up through the ranks and became in my eyes a very good engineer but recently we were taken over by a VERY big company and i am now just a number and the way they work is very strange. I have been planning to work for myself but just wondered if anyone had got any tips for me, for example how do you work direct one day and then you have a week full of your own work the next? I cant advertise yet while im still with the company. I could start doing jobs on the side and building a customer base that way and then when i give a months notice start advertising? Also my company has said if anyone has there own gas safe card they will be sacked???

Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Last edited:
start planning,youve got the experaince,youll,nail it workng for self ,youll soon get in work.my only tip would have at least 3 months money behind you as a reserve,if poss.dont blow all your money save 1 third for tax,and work out your overheads,
ie public liabilty insur,van,petrol,van tax,insurance,holiday pay,tools,accoutant,ads . stay on top of paperwork,work out a mim callout fee.remember it will take 3 years to become established.and finally dont give up,there will be highs and lows,but planning money wise is a must

Thanks for the quick response, i only thought keeping 2 months money back would be enough im glad you said, im thinking of making the transition when it starts to get cold next year maybe September (is this a good time?) so plenty of time to save some cash although i need a van, power flush unit and a few other little things.