Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss uPVC pipe leak - is there an easy fix? in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Morning

Noticed a brown patch in the ceiling.. lovely.
Poked finger through and it was wet ie active leak.
Have cut away plasterboard and can see uPVC pipe with a gentle drip. From what I can tell this pipe is the combi boiler condensate to waste pipe.
Problem is in its an extremely difficult position to reach, above a pair of RSJs that I can barely fit a hand through.

Is there a recommended tape/sealant that although not ideal, would do the trick?
20211102_102445.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Starting to think why it's randomly started... Got me wondering if heat exchanger gone on combi. Have turned boiler off and it's still dripping after an hour or boiler being off. I'm no expert but I believe that's a sign it could be a boiler issue?

That said, even if HX fault, doesn't stop the fact that the pipe work should be sound. Most likely I have 2 issues

Depends how much it’s been condensing, and if there’s a decent fall on the pipe, or even a backfall. Have replaced/repaired literally loads of these, sometimes they fail if the pipe hasn’t been prepared correctly, cleaned, or solvent weld all the way around the joint.

For idea of route, pic below of pipe leaving combi, it then goes straight down to floor level and out in ceiling void below as original pic.

20211102_123544.jpg

Separately....

After turning boiler off this pipework on UFH manifold has decided to start leaking now. I've turned boiler back on and hopefully stops but no idea what could trigger that nor what that Flexi pipe actually achieves

20211102_131815.jpg

Flexi pipes like that are generally for topping up system pressure/initial filling/additional filling.