Discuss Slow leak? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Suzy82

DSCF3717.jpgDSCF3718.jpgHi all

I'm a newbie on here and am hoping someone can help! Back in Sept I noticed 2 areas of damp on my living room ceiling (under the airing cupboard) there was a slow leak in the airer from a pipe that the plumber fixed.

Monitoring the ceiling it seems that one of the damp patches has stayed the same in size, the other has grown slightly. Could this be the old leak drying out or another leak?

Thanks in advance
Suzy

Last edited by a moderator:
If its still damp it's still leaking you sure it's not just stained

Sorry suzy
It's hard to tell but just looks like its stained the one that got bigger may have had water lying and was still getting bigger but looks just like stains now in pictures

The stain will never go away will need painting
But if it's dry to touch it should be fine
Or you could drill a small hole in stained area to see if it's dry above stain
If it has stopped leaking should be dry now

yeah, it wouldn't take since September to dry out. If it's wet still theres a leak.
Call plumber, if in my area, call me!!! (only joking)

yo will likely need to seal the stain with pva or similar. if you just repaint the stain very probably will come back through.

draw line around it lightly with a pencil as you will be painting it anyway, then you can be absolutely sure the stain isn't getting any bigger.

I drew a line round the edges in sept- that's how I know 1 has grown and 1 hasn't... Don't think it has gown in the last 2 weeks though. I noticed next door has the same marks on their ceiling in the same spot (plus more marks). Rented though so tenant doesn't know the history of it there.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Slow leak? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics