Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss Simple Repair or Replace Question in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, am hoping someone can advise on whether I should repair, or replace, my Glow Worm Economy Plus 50F conventional boiler?

Currently it is not working - possibly due to insufficient airflow through the heat exchanger: when you switch it on, the piezo igniter just keeps clicking but you don't actually get ignition. The fan is working. When you remove the 2 exterior covers, so that the gas jets are exposed, and then switch it on it ignites immediately.

I have attached a pic of the heat exchanger - which looks pretty clogged to me - so seems a reasonable assumption that no air is being drawn through it - and hence no combustion.

But I'm no expert, so would appreciate some advice from someone who can tell me if this sounds like the real cause of the boiler failing to ignite?

Also whether this heat exchanger is really 'toast'? New ones appear to be £400 and I know I can't fit one - I assume you would need to drain / refill the system so would expect another £400 labour for that?

Any help anyone can give would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• 20130405_170548.jpg
    20130405_170548.jpg
    91.4 KB · Views: 65
You need a gsr in to look at your boiler. We cannot and will not give advice on the installation or repair of boilers for your own safety.

Please go to Gas Safe Register | Ensure your gas engineer is registered. or post a thread in the 'I'm looking for a plumber / gas engineer' section of these forums remembering to include your location. [DLMURL="http://www.ukplumbersforums.co.uk/im-looking-plumber-gas-engineer/"]I'm looking for a Plumber or Gas Engineer[/DLMURL]