Users can remove all display ads (not sponsors) for a small fee. Click for info (must be logged in)

Discuss New bathroom plumbing help please in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi there,

I'm very new to plumbing and have successfully put in two sinks and a shower/bath from scratch without any leaks (it did take a long time). The problem I seem to be having at the moment though is that when I use the mixer valve to fill the bath something weird is going on with my water pressure. It starts slowly and then after 10-30 seconds the water pauses very briefly and then full pressure starts.

I haven't noticed a problem with the bathroom sink, but when I turn on the hot water in the kitchen the pressure drops compared to just cold water. I'm not sure if these two issues are related.

Any idea as to what might be happening and how I can attempt to fix it? I had a new boiler installed. Could it be that or my dodgy plumbing???

Much appreciated,

Taryn

Last edited:
Are there any pumps involved pumping your hot water??

No pumps. Could the bath fill be related to some dodgy pipework? (I had to add extra pipe to get it to fit and it goes up and down slightly...)

does sound a bit like air can you take some pics of the pipework

Was it a combi boiler fitted?

Get a professional in to have look at this it's cheaper than doing something wrong

be-like-bill-plumber-1.jpg

If you have a combi boiler then you may have a valve like a combi-smart or combi-save fitted.

These restrict the flow on the hot water while the boiler gets up to temperature as an energy saving measure.

This would affect the hot water flow at all outlets and have no effect on cold outlets.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks Rckape, I've tested it and that seems to be the issue as I have a new combi boiler and the problem disappears when it's just cold water. Is there anything I can do about that? Thanks again!