Discuss Main 24 he in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

stevie

Hi people, I've just moved into a house and it has a main 24 combi boiler, the machanical time clock has been swapped out for a digital Grasslin timer, it also has a wireless stat.

The house has been rented for years and seems to of had a regular boiler service, ( boiler installed in 08 )

now, the water works fine, but there is no heat, it's doing nothing, green light on.... So I'm thinking time clock, or something obvious to you experienced lads.

A little about me - I'm a qualified electrician - SJH Electrical - Electrical Testing in Liverpool and Merseyside and I've done a ( short ) and in no way enought ( 5 weeks) Gas course at hybrid technical in Aintree.... I know it takes years to become fully competent, I'm not about to start stripping this boiler down.

Im just thinking it might be something basic on the electrical side, timer , stat ....

any ideas

many ththanks
ste

ps please excuse the typos, I've no Internet so I'm on my mob.

Is everything calling for heat? time clock? wall stat? boiler thermostat up to max? boiler set for heating and hot water?
:)

thread should be closed gas advise cannot be given on an open forum. if your gas safe registered pm your details to a moderator who allow you access to the closed for for gsr engineers.

Now you wouldn't go telling someone whos not qualified how to fault find on a board on the sparky forum now would you.....

Hi guys, I understand about not think it's right to give advice on the Gas side of things, but I'm asking advice on the electrical side of things.

For those who have given me a few basic pointers "thanks" I'll get me testers out and do a few tests.

Cheers

Hmm, how do you know you're leaving the boiler in a safe working condition after your work?

I'm testing the circuit sequence to check that the necessary voltage and signals are being sent.