Search the forum,

Discuss Joining soil pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,
First, I'm not a professional plumber.
I'm moving a wc and sink in my bathroom, which are connected into a 110mm plastic soil pile outside the late victorian building. As the new wc is half the distance from the soil pipe than the old wc, it needs to go into the soil pipe slightly higher than before, keeping the same fall. So I need to put the connection in a little higher on the soil pipe which means making the soil pipe section from the old wc connector into the ground slightly longer. However the lower end of the soil pipe is cemented into the ground, so I am wondering can I just cut the soil pipe lower down and join on a slightly longer piece rather than dig up the concrete at the bottom of the soil pipe. My questions are; Are joins acceptable in soil pipes ? How tolerant are pushfit connectors if the new wc soil pipe came into the soil stack at a sharper angle ?
Thanks

Is your soil pipe plastic or cast iron. If plastic while not ideal it is acceptable to use a slip coupler to join ina section of pipe to bring your branch higher to meet the new closer toilet pan.

Is your soil pipe plastic or cast iron. If plastic while not ideal it is acceptable to use a slip coupler to join ina section of pipe to bring your branch higher to meet the new closer toilet pan.

Thanks for the information.
It is 110mm plastic, so I can just cut it lower down and put in a new piece to adjust the level of the wc connection. I found it needs more adjusting as the old wc outlet pipe has a 14 degree downwards connection to the outside, where it joins a 90 elbow from where the 110mm pipe runs down at the usual fall into a swept tee on the soil stack. I believe now wc connections are installed horizontal to the outside, with the specified 18-90mm fall/m to the soil pipe, so it will need more adjustment than I thought originally.