Search the forum,

Discuss How to learn more advanced plumbing installations. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

spikewt

Gas Engineer
At the risk of being slated for asking, Im wandering how plumbers advance to more complex systems.

I've been a plumber for 12 years, self employed for 5 and at almost 30 years old i feel like i know a fair bit about general plumbing and heating (but very very far from everything). I start to get out of my depth when things go bigger than an average system but still domestic.
For example, a 6 bed house with 2 boilers, 2 underfloor heating manifolds and 2 unvented cylinders. I have never been taught about low loss headers, accumulators, water flow rates and large system designing.

Is this something you just have to dive into with the basic knowledge and teach yourself as time goes on, have manufacturers design them and you just fit what they say or is there a training course.

Get somebody in to work with you who has done it. Yes, you will not make as much, but the increase in knowledge will be invaluable.

At the risk of being slated for asking, Im wandering how plumbers advance to more complex systems.

I've been a plumber for 12 years, self employed for 5 and at almost 30 years old i feel like i know a fair bit about general plumbing and heating (but very very far from everything). I start to get out of my depth when things go bigger than an average system but still domestic.
For example, a 6 bed house with 2 boilers, 2 underfloor heating manifolds and 2 unvented cylinders. I have never been taught about low loss headers, accumulators, water flow rates and large system designing.

Is this something you just have to dive into with the basic knowledge and teach yourself as time goes on, have manufacturers design them and you just fit what they say or is there a training course.