Discuss Help, very confused. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jase158

Hi All,

I have recently replaced the float valve in my cwst, because the old one was making too much noise, this solved the noise problem but now I am faced with the water going really slow after about 3-5 minutes of running it for the bath.

I have checked the cwst to see if it is going empty but this is not the cause. I am a bit puzzled as to why it would run dry.

my cwst is on the first floor and my bathroom is on the ground floor.

the only conclusion I can come up with is a blockage, there is little bits of dirt coming out, but why did it work before i changed the float valve and it works up to a point?

The water goes slow for about 30 seconds and then goes back to normal, this is happening twice when running a bath, so can become a right problem and isnt brilliant as I am a plumber and having this problem when people are visiting.

If it is a blockage, what can be done to clean the water (potable) pipes? apart from replacing.

debris has entered the feed pipe or air lock?.
turn cold supply off and empty tank. temp bung vent.
connect hose to cold tap and back flush the cylinder thru hot tap for a few seconds.
see what pushes out and clean out.

Last edited by a moderator:
How about the hand basin, does that do the same?

the hand basin alone does not seem to cause it, however if I open the bath and sink at the same time then both run dry.

may I just add that it isnt the cold tap, it is the hot as the cold is off the mains (very old system) so it is coming from cwst, to the hwc, to the hot tap.

I am thinking that there isnt enough pressure when the cwst is half empty? so this is why it is slowing down so much, but unsure.
never heard of this before, I thought that as long as there was enough water to cover the hole there would be enough pressure, as the pressure builds up in the pipes? or am I wrong?