Currently reading:
Hello everyone

Discuss Hello everyone in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scott-Plumb

Hi everyone

I just wanted to post a thread introducing myself. My name is Craig, I'm 31 years old and live near Glasgow. I am currently a marketing manager but looking to re-train and start a new career as a plumber.

When I left school (many moons ago) I did the whole uni degree route and have work in an office for over 10 years now but I have always wanted to do something more hands on and practical for a living. My plumbing experience is probably at a decent DIY level at the moment but I am doing an evening class at college to gain some practical experience and a home study distant learning course to try and nail down a bit of the theory side. Although neither of these courses will give me an industry-recognised qualification I think it's a good way to test the water (pardon the pun :)) to see if a career in plumbing is for me.

I have looked at the OLCI and Train4Trade Skill type courses as this appears to be the only route (other thank buying a plumbing franchise) into the industry for older people who want to re-train, although I appreciate that the City & Guild Qualification offered by these courses is only a stepping stone to getting the SVQ required to be a full qualified plumber.

I have also been out on a few jobs with a local plumber to try and get more hands on experience but it's difficult trying to fit this, college and home study all around my exisiting job and family - that said, I am very determined to give this a go and my long term aim is to hopefully start up my own company once I have some more experience and qualifications behind me.