Search the forum,

Discuss First daft question in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

dm65

Right, as said, I have many a daft question and my first is about kinking or wrinkles when using a bender

Bought a cheap bender from Wicks (which may of course be the problem) and when bending, even low angles, I get wrinkles in the bend

I'm not particularly bothered about the wrinkles though it would be nice if it didn't happen, but are wrinkles an issue later on ie crud build up (ch pipe) or weakness

If I should be worried, how do you stop this happening ?

Regards

Denis

You'd be right in your supposition that it's because of it being a cheap bender. Try giving the formers a good rub with wire wool. Then a good squirt of wd40.

Thanks Croppie, I'm a bit of a woodworker so know about fettling tools so should have tried this already perhaps - i'll give it a go tomorrow

Ermintrude - I did try slow and didn't make any difference but when searching, I found someone who suggested taking 5 minutes to form a bend which made me wince, then promptly ignore !

Regards

Denis

Mostly the benders however the more the copper grade reduces the easier they ripple, copper just aint wot it used to be, ive always had a hilmor bender and when i boiught a standing bending machine for 28mm from bend it now i recieved a free hand bender and must say nowhere near quality of hilmor,

Technical term is " throating" if I recall. No I'm not watching late night channels!

As Kris has said it can be the bender or the grade of copper, sometimes if the copper Is to brittle or thin it won't bend properly, and can even snap.

I would scrap the bender if you can't sort it immediately.
A lot of badly rippled bends can be caused by slight corrosion on the bender.