Search the forum,

Discuss Can copper piping be used for condensate drain pipe from combi boiler in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jonbo300

Hi all,

This is first post and I'm afraid I'm not very technically minded.

I had a new Worcester Bosch 38CDI natural gas combi boiler installed about 5 months ago. Everything was fine until a week ago when the boiler started shutting down about 3 or 4 times a day, but would restart when the reset button pressed. The boiler was showing an error code EA. The installer believed that the plastic condensate drain pipe was probably bending slightly and trapping water somewhere in the piping and causing the boiler to shut down. He cleared any water from this pipe but the boiler would still shut down and show the same error code. The installer then replaced the pipe with copper piping thinking this should be more rigid with no water being trapped, but still the boiler was shutting down. The installer then thought the problem must be an electronic problem within the boiler itself and to contact Worcester Bosch. I did this and their engineer confirmed that it was an electronic problem with the boiler. However, the engineer from the manufacturer said that copper piping should not be used for the condensate drain pipe. Just wondering if anyone could perhaps explain a bit more and what I should now do regarding the copper piping.

Appreciate any comments. Thanks

No chance.

Call him back and ask him to pls replace the copper with the right pipe.

Last edited:
Hi Alpha man,

Thanks for the quick reply. Just wondering what to do now. Will the replacement copper piping now have to be replaced by the original plastic piping?

Or is there any way of keeping the copper piping in situ??