Search the forum,

Discuss £44.00 for a single replacement City & Guilds certificate! in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

NickDavies

So they were thrown out by mistake many years ago, when awarded back in the day they came rolled up in a cardboard tube (similar to an empty kitchen roll tube) which my ex wife claimed she thought was rubbish in my Man cave that she should have not trespassed into anyway.

Never really needed them in the intervening years as my Heating,Ventilating and Domestic Engineers NJIC indentures and a 10 minute chat were usually enough to convince any UK supervisor or manager who knows anything about mechanical services that I am a bona fide engineer.

However, several weeks ago I had an interview with a company (better not to name them on this forum) one of the managers was a young fellow half my age and I had to keep asking what he was saying as I could not understand barely a word he said, anyway when I showed him my completed indentures he asked for the Guilds certificates and that was a bit of a problem, no guilds = no job.

So online £44.00 for a city and Guilds search and replacement certificate, what a let down, my original guilds were quite ornate and printed on heavy weight cream paper with a proper watermark.....the replacements that turned up were nothing like the original...............

£44.00 for some flimsy paper with a hologram and a printed signature? it's a bit rich to charge such a sum and only provide a quite basic looking certificate, but at least the next time some back stabbing career ladder climbing johnny come lately type who can't speak clearly asks for my guilds I will be able to oblige.

Last week my wife had a telephone interview with an agency, who'd head hunted her.
The young man asked her, as she did not have a degree if she could send copies of her A levels as the company would need evidence of her educational level.