Discuss washing machine into same pipe as boiler condense. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

throwoff

Hi,

I have a quick question regarding plumbing in a Washing machine.

Our boiler is mounted on the wall above the space the washing machine will go into.
Thanks to the previous tennants wrecking the boiler we had to have all the piping replaced underneath so now the condense comes straight from the boiler via a straight pipe into the waste pipe.

I believe the correct procedure for installing the new washing machine is that our washing machine outlet will connect to a Ubend at the top of the waste pipe and will need to connect the condense below the ubend with a y join.

Sorry if any of that is gibberish, I am not a plumber by trade but feel providing my information is correct that the job can be undertaken by myself.

Below
are a coupe of images (please excuse the poor quality!) Could anyone confirm this is the right way to do it!

This is it currently

current.JPG

This is what I intend
neq.JPG

That will work. Poss a bit longwinded. I'd probably put a waterless hep trap on the existing downpipe and squeeze washing machine waste into top next to condense if it'll fit or cut in a adaptor if not. But that may be considered a bit of a bodge. Neater though.

Thanks mate.

One other question, I'm thinking to make it a simpler job of using flexible plastic pipe off the existing condense pipe into the new Y join. Should me a lot less cutting and faffing to make it all sit straight.

I know condense is slightly acidic which rules out metal pipe but can anyone forsee any problems using flexible plastic pipe?

They make overflows for bath waste O/F in the concertina fashion. It probably wouldn't suit condensate application, though I don't know for sure.