Discuss Vertical Flue Termination in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

PriestyUK

Gas Engineer
Hi lads, just been to price a job to replace a OLD big bad boy Ferroli combi boiler which is in a habitable loft space. My problem is the current vertical flue terminates in between two opening velux windows 900mm one side and 400mm the other, pretty much in line, not above them and not below them. Told him this is unsafe and wont meet current standards when I install the new boiler (Viessmann 100-W 30kW Combi) His a chippy by trade, if he converted these windows properly to not open ever again and not by just thumping in a few screws would this then pass reg wise? His not keen on relocating the boiler to be fair Current boiler is proper ducked, and I have isolated and made safe anyhow. Pretty much got the job as his a good mate but your views will be greatly welcomed :)

what happens when its all sold and someone puts in an opening window as happened in cornwall, from my understanding dear old beak found the gsr guilty as he saw the window as an opening in the wall, despite it being sealed originally. I would ask gas safe to confirm it is ok first

Won't matter. My understanding is that res have to be adhered to at the time of installation. Alterations after the fact cannot be the responsibility of the engineer.

I would however advise that photographic evidence of a non opening window be recorded and time/date stamped

I always used to write it into my quote that certain things had to be done before the work was done and get it signed so that I had written proof that it was done.

As I said though you cant fit something to suit what is not there otherwise you wouldnt be able to fit anything otherwise what happens if you fit a boiler somewhere and somebody decides to fit a window next to it. How can you be held responsible for that.