Search the forum,

Discuss Urinal Plastic Waste in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Chippy by trade, was tasked with renewing wastes and traps.

However, I'm confused to how to fit these wastes, I dont suppose it makes much difference, but what is the CORRECT way?

The old wastes didnt have washer, just masses of silicone used.

Thanks

upload_2019-2-23_12-10-30.jpeg

images

1) With Washer to bottom of urinal pan (TOP) (Similar to fitting a tap) -- 2nd picture
2) With washer at top of locking top (Underneath of Urinal?) -- 1st picture

I suppose you learn by doing little jobs for people, it was leaking anyway. Would you have fitted differently?

CYA and get whoever asked a chippy to do their plumbing to approve the method and finish on the first one before you do the remainder.

Your photo isn't very clear but it doesn't look right to me. You seem to have a dam between the porcelain and the outlet where there should be a smooth downward gradient. You'll get a ring of urine trapped there until the next flush. This may or may not be a problem (i.e. smell of stale pee and amonia) depending on usage and flushing frequency.

I'm no expert, but I think that your top photo is a design that intends that sealant is used at the top so that there is no ponding and the flat washer should be between the back-nut and the underside of the bowl keeping the sealant compressed by maintaining tension. Your bottom photo seems to have a conical washer so that makes it likely that it is intended to form the seal and should go at the top for that design. It's possible that the new waste just isn't a good fit to the bowl. Check the manufacturer's instructions.

Last edited:

Reply to Urinal Plastic Waste in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

• Useful