Search the forum,

Discuss Troublesome bottle trap problem in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Cabrid

Hi all, I'm a newbie here and have joined after googling my problem but am unable to find a solution as yet. Our bathroom sink was draining very slowly so yesterday I unscrewed the bottle trap. It was quite gunked up so I gave it a good clean and replaced it, but now the sink won't drain at all beyond the bottle trap. I've dismantled all the fittings under the sink and ensured they aren't blocked, and can run flexible piping through the pipes without getting an obstruction. Running hot water through seems to prove the water isn't getting further than the trap as the pipes beyond it remain cool. If I unscrew the joint just beyond the trap going into the waste and wiggle the washer I can hear air escaping and then the water flows through. That makes me suspect some kind of airlock. I've tried plunging as well to no avail. It's driving me crazy as I feel sure the previous slow draining was down to the bottle trap being full of gunge and can't see why now it's stopped draining altogether. Any suggestions or advice would be much appreciated by this dummy diy'er

Gravity! Tis all it takes to make this work.

So if it ain't workn' somethings stopping gravity do its stuff! That generally means a blockage down stream! If not the 'bottle trap' then beyond..................!

Check out he waste pipe after the trap. You may find the problem there!

could also be a choke on the vent side stopping the water running away, with the trap out try to pour some water down the waste pipe via a hose if possible as the pipe round about the hose will allow air to enter as well, if it runs away it isnt blocked down the pipe but in the vent side, then refit the trap and try again, it should work for a few seconds till the trap fills and no air is entering the pipe again