Discuss Recommend carpet stretcher/knee kicker in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
You guys must use'em to put back carpet after a job, looking for a cheapie but goodie. One of those need it a few times a year items for me.

One with adjustable pins and leg is what you need. Something like this: http://www.NoLinkingToThis/p/knee-kicker/19665

I just screw a length or several lengths, so you have mass, of carpet gripper onto an old piece of joist; place the gripper which is attached to the joist face down on said carpet and ease with knees or knock joist with mallet carefully easing carpet back into place.

Last edited:
I can't lay carpet to save my life so I advise the customer that I will loose lay the carpet back and they can get a carpet fitter in to relay it.

Carpet stretcher... Come off it... You've gone too far with that! I am a plumber / heating engineer, I put any carpet that I lifted back down & it normally looks pretty good... But if you think I'm gonna buy a carpet stretcher, lol!! No way!

Got a streacher. Carful u don't have spikes right out on old carpet it makes a mess

It's one of those things like plastering when you watch someone do it ,it looks easy. I've got one but the amount I use it ,it kills my knees. Probably takes years for your knees to get used to it. Just shove it down with a clean bolster and kick it other way.

buying a carpet strecher would be like asking croppie to bathe more than once a month, total waste of time imho :)

You'll also need a replacement knee in no time if doing a lot of it !

Carpet stretcher... Come off it... You've gone too far with that! I am a plumber / heating engineer, I put any carpet that I lifted back down & it normally looks pretty good... But if you think I'm gonna buy a carpet stretcher, lol!! No way!

Says it all! Best comment in this topic and wont get beaten!