Search the forum,

Discuss Radiator valve question in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hello folks - newbie here! I wonder if I may ask for your advice please?

We had a "plumber" fit a couple of new designer radiators in our house recently. I use the word in quotes because he turned out to be a total idiot and ballsed up the installation. He did not attach the rads correctly (didn't read the installation instructions) so they wobble; he measured the pipework wrongly, meaning he had to re-do it AFTER the new wallpapering was done, and then he burned the newly painted skirting board and the wallpaper. Brilliant.

He ran away leaving one of the rads connected, but not filled, suggesting he'd come back to finish the job. I told him not to bother returning thanks. So I now have a plumbed in, but empty radiator. The rest of the system is working.

Here's my question: Do I need to fit PTFE tape between the rad valves and the radiator tails? There is no PTFE between value and radiator tails at the moment - which surprises me. Do I need to remove the rad and add some PTFE, or can I just open the valves and away I go?

Sorry if this is a numpty question but if it leaks then presumably I'll have to drain the whole system down, which would be a right pain in the ****.

Thanks

1. No need for PTFE tape if you have new tails and new valves with new olives.
2. Valve compression nut onto tail, olive onto tail, valve onto tail and do compression nut up. Firm finger tight then 1/2 turn should do it. If slight weep when full, tighten a bit more.
3. PTFE shouldn't be used on threads, except when the thread alone is making the water seal, for example when screwing the tails into the radiator.
4. It is OK to use it wrapped round the olive when making a compression joint where some of the fittings aren't new.
5. Given the experience level of the person who fitted the radiators, you might wish to check that:
5a. Whether they require flow and return to be attached to specific sides.