Search the forum,

Discuss Part L heating zone compliance?? in the Plumbing Zone area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
O

oaky

What is the best way with boiler upgrades etc to comply with zoning requirements of part l, programmable trv's etc......

Still the same. Still have multiple zones with a combi.

Sure I see exactly what you are saying however this will make for quite a more invasive and expensive boiler change. Is this how you interpret the Part L doc as it not very clear if you look at the table it does say about TRV and programmable room stats.

We have always fitted the TRV and room stat as standard and to be completely honest i didn't realize they now required separate zones on existing.

I thought that it was only on new. And you just do the best possible with the budget available to customer when updating, surely. Although I'm still a trainee and more than willing to be corrected

do a search for zoning, lots of threads, reg came into force oct 2010, its if you are installing two or more items

Only applies if changing a boiler and more than one thermostat. So as long as you keep within these rules you don't have to. It would make your price un competitive and no one I know is doing it.

A boiler and one stat? I was under the impression that would be two controls and therefore zoning required? If we need to follow these standards why don't they make a clear concise document which as GSR engineers we receive in form of technical bulletin giving it in plain English!

Do your best to comply, however as was said, price can go up quite a lot through additional work. I know a fitter that doesn't bother with a room stat, poor in my standard. I once lost a job for telling customer I needed to put trv's on, said it works fine without them just now. people that set the energy saving standard don't live in the real world.