Search the forum,

Discuss No hot water in BOTH showers in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Theladyplumber

Please help. I have a lady who has no hot water to BOTH of her mixer showers, they are gravity fed. She has a good flow of hot, just coming out cold. Both were working fine. Would it be some gunk in the valve or is that unlikely as it is both of her showers, or will it be an airlock in pipework, if so how do I clear the airlock...please excuse my stupidity, I am still a bit new to all this. Any suggestions would be great because I have to see her at lunchtime today.

Do you have hot water coming from the taps?

What sort of connector do you have on the cylinder?

is it direct or indirect to the cylinder?

Hi, yep hot water coming from taps, don't know the answer to the other, not been there yet. Sorry that really wasn't that much help for you

Ok, easiest thing to check is make sure the water is heated properly, if it is piped up correctly with a surrey flange (I never get the name of these right) or essex flange and the water is being heated by an immersion you will get hot water to the top of the cylinder and not to the middle or bottom, this may result in hot to the taps but not the shower. Had this a couple of times or you'd get hot for a couple of minutes then cold.

May be both cartridges gone but this would normally fluctuate temp not make it cold and both cartridges going together... unlikely.

You could take off the shower head and dangle the hose in the bath this would help clear airlocks.

Are they pumped? could be a blocked filter on the pump.

Hi thank you, no definitely not pumped, just gravity fed. So if it is fitted with Surrey flange and the water is not being heated properly, what would be my next step....(sorry if am coming across as a dim wit) ....Will try dangling the shower head first. Lol.