Discuss My gas Safe man say's.............................. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

smiffyz

Hi, I'm a Builder who now teaches Construction and after 20 years of being a self employed Builder i've come to the point where if a Gas Safe engineer tells me something isn't safe then i believe him, why wouldn't i he's the expert.
So here's my problem.

I'm in the process of having my new 9k kitchen completed, the units are all in and the Granite tops are fitted, just the new 700mm 5 burner gas hob needs connecting up. Along comes my engineer and nope he says, the wall units are to close to the top of the burners, if they end at the sides of the hob which they do, they should be be a minimum of 450 mm above the top of the cast iron burner which they're not, they're only 350 mm. So obviously he wouldnt make the connection.

So i phone the surveyor who approved the installation who says it'll be ok because he was corgi reg 5 years ago and he could assure me it'll be fine.

Now i've been on the Bosch website and looked at the installation instructions and sure enough it's exactly as my gas man says. So i phone the surveyor back and he says it's only a guide.
Now the company are sending out another surveyor to have a look and i'd like to show him in black and white the actual regs. My man tells me that if the wall units stay the height they are now then they need to be further away from the edge of the hob (if you lose on the height then you must gain on the width) which i do understand and it sounds reasonable, or have a smaller (600mm) hob which would give me a 100mm gap either side of the hob so the units could stay 350mm above.

Can i have some opinions please, i'd like to hit the surveyor with a few facts and maybe point him to some actual regs because i 've got the feeling that they'll try and fob me off with "that only applies to Bosch" or something similar.

Sorry i gone on a bit!