Search the forum,

Discuss mixer taps and airlocks in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennie

Gas Engineer
Hi all,

I'm a student plumber. On my work experience, we came across an air lock in a bungalow. The plumber got rid of it by forcing mains water up the hot pipe (which had the airlock).

This was done via a mixer tap, which had mains cold but tank-fed hot.

My question is, could this be done on twin-flow mixers, as well as single-flow mixers?

Also another q... when installing mixers, am I right in thinking that only twin-flows are put in kitchens, for hygiene reasons? Aside from that, are there any other preferences of location for one over the other?

Thanks for your advice,

Jennie

doing that trick is easier i find using two taps like a basin or such with a bit of hosepie.

Twin flows delivers water through spout as 2 flows and water mixes at outlet of tap preventing cross flow of water (re water regs) single flows mix water in tap body before going through spout into sink these should be fitted with check valves to prevent possible cross flow of water. So no it can't be done with twin flows.

Last edited by a moderator:
Twin flows delivers water through spout as 2 flows and water mixes at outlet of tap preventing cross flow of water (re water regs) single flows mix water in tap body before going through spout into sink these should be fitted with check valves to prevent possible cross flow of water. So no it can't be done with twin flows.
How would you be able to get rid of air locks in this situation?...thank you

Washing machine hose. Take it off the washer and screw that end on to the hot washmac valve and turn both valves to open position

....or another way is to remove the neck of the kitchen mixer. Usually a grub screw holds the neck in.